History of the Authority.

About Us

In 1991, the Rockbridge County Board of Supervisors created the Rockbridge County Solid Waste Authority, under the provisions of the Virginia Water and Waste Authorities Act, for the purpose of owning and operating the Rockbridge Regional Landfill.

In 2017, both the County of Rockbridge and the City of Lexington passed joint resolutions approving the joinder of the City to the Solid Waste Authority and renaming the organization as Blue Ridge Resource Authority. The Authority serves its two member localities, the County of Rockbridge and City of Lexington, the citizens of both localities, as well as several commercial and municipal customers throughout the region. Blue Ridge Resource Authority was certified by the Virginia State Corporation Commission on December 27, 2017. Blue Ridge Resource Authority is a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia.


Organizational Documents

Board Members

The Blue Ridge Resource Authority Board of Directors is a seven-member board comprised of the five members of the Rockbridge County Board of Supervisors, or designees, and two members of Lexington City Council/City Mayor, or designees. Each Director serves a one-year term expiring on December 31 of each year. The Board of Directors is the governing body of Blue Ridge Resource Authority and annually elects a Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Secretary, and Treasurer as its officers.

Daniel E. Lyon, Chairman

Frank W. Friedman, Vice-Chairman

Charles N. Smith, Treasurer

Albert J. Lewis, II, Director

Robert W. Day, Director

Leslie E. Ayers, Director

David B. McDaniel, Director

Lauren B. Potter, Secretary


Ray York, Director
Office: (540) 264-0213, Ext. 4
Fax: (540) 264-0171

Fred Dudley, Operations Manager
Office: (540) 264-0213, Ext. 2
Fax: (540) 264-0171

Stephen Lucas, Scale Operator
Office: (540) 264-0213 Ext. 0
Fax: (540) 264-0171

Lauren Potter, Office Manager
Office: (540) 264-0213, Ext. 3
Fax: (540) 264-0171

Larry Lunsford, Equipment Operator

Chris Nicely, Lead Operator

Carl Clark, Equipment Operator

Tyler Jessee, Equipment Operator

James Black, Equipment Operator

Clemeth Roberts, Collection Center Attendant